Article 2.0

September 2, 2008 at 5:00 pm | Posted in library, publishing | 2 Comments

Another post in the category “failed miserably at web 2.0”.

So Elsevier just started a contest to get some ideas about how a scientific article might look in a browser today. Since the motto “WHAT IF YOU WERE THE PUBLISHER?” resonated with me, I thought I might just enter the competition – if only to have a peek at what their article markup looks like.

Unfortunately I couldn’t make the registration. The registration form is a PDF that has to be filled in and emailed back. Looks like they really need help on web 2.0; at least they clearly missed the usability and browser-is-the-platform parts. None of the PDF readers on my machine – including acroread – (ubuntu 7.10) would let me fill in a PDF form, although I admit to not trying too hard.

In short, making sharing of ideas that hard is most definitely not web 2.0.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. … following up our discussion at lunch, I googled for “elsevier article 2.0 contest” and entered the homepage under

    http://article20.elsevier.com/contest/home.htm

    This only provides a preliminary announcement, so I got confused until I noticed that a small “l” can make a big difference:

    http://article20.elsevier.com/contest/home.html

  2. @inga: looks like they failed at web 1.0, too.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

